Common sense solutions to reverse wounds from damaging watershed practices and improve quality of life

River Source provides landscape assessment, site mapping, project design and implementation, monitoring the effectiveness of restoration work and grant writing.  We have over 20 years of working with tribes, ranchers, local and state agencies, and conservation and volunteer groups.

slider_before-afterWatershed restoration involves a careful site assessment to prioritize restoration work in places that  have good prospects for success and other areas that would be a waste of time to spend resources.

In some cases the area can benefit from revegetation such as pole planting with willows, river bank stabilization with wood posts or rocks, or revisioning and changing how land use occurs in the area with fencing.  See our most recent pole planting guide for a “how to”.

Stormwater harvesting experience & practice

Our partners Aaron Kauffman of Southwest Urban Hydrology,  have designed and implemented innovative bioretention basins in Santa Fe parking lots.  Their work capitalizes on opportunities throughout the community to capture rainwater, utilize the water where it falls, and create a beautiful space that was previously underutilized and under appreciated.  The image here by Paul Navrot shows how bioretention ponds can have numerous positive impacts for people and nature at the same time.raingarden basim by paul navrot

River Source is a member of the Rainwater Resource Partners, a Santa Fe-based collaborative.

Planning for Natural Resource Management experience & practice – 

Working with Ecotone, River Source developed three open space management plans for Santa Fe County Open Space and Trails Program.

 

Monitoring for Success & Learning-

Monitoring of projects includes establishing benchmarks for success and pre / post project data collection on indicators such as photopoints and vegetation or geomorphology.  River Source has ongoing monitoring work with schools, communities and clients at at least 25 sites throughout New Mexico.

 

Click here to contact us for more information about our watershed restoration and erosion control services.

Our partners

We are honored to have worked with several partners that excel in ecological restoration and community organizing to protect our rivers.  They include:

Rio Puerco Alliance – http://www.riopuercoalliance.org/

Santa Fe Watershed Association – http://www.santafewatershed.org/

Upper Pecos Watershed Association – http://www.pecoswatershed.org/

Quivira Coalition – http://www.quiviracoalition.org/

Abandoned Mine Land Program of New Mexico – http://www.emnrd.state.nm.us/MMD/AML/amlmain.html

Rio Grande Return – http://www.riograndereturn.com/

River Network – http://www.rivernetwork.org/

Conservation Education at NM Department of Game and Fish – http://www.wildlife.state.nm.us/education/index.htm

We also work with several contractors/businesses that do great work in water harvesting, river restoration, and erosion control.  They are:

Craig Sponholtz of Watershed Artisans – http://watershedartisans.com/

Aaron Kauffman of Southwest Urban Hydrology – http://www.southwesturbanhydrology.com/

Van Clothier of Stream Dynamics – http://www.streamdynamics.us/

Steve Carson of Rangeland Hands – http://rangelandhands.com/

Pin It on Pinterest